KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Kent County Council held in the Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Tuesday, 17 December 2019.

PRESENT: Mrs A D Allen, MBE (Chairman) Mr G K Gibbens (Vice-Chairman)

Mr M J Angell, Mr M A C Balfour, Mr P V Barrington-King, Mr P Bartlett, Mrs C Bell, Mrs R Binks, Mr T Bond, Mr A H T Bowles, Mr D L Brazier, Mr J Burden, Miss S J Carey, Mr P B Carter, CBE, Mrs S Chandler, Mr N J D Chard, Mr J Clinch, Mrs P T Cole, Mr N J Collor. Ms K Constantine, Mr A Cook, Mr G Cooke, Mr P C Cooper, Mrs M E Crabtree, Mr D S Daley, Miss E Dawson, Mrs T Dean, MBE, Mr D Farrell, Mrs L Game, Mr R W Gough, Ms S Hamilton, Mr A R Hills, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr S Holden, Mr P J Homewood, Mr E E C Hotson, Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr P W A Lake, Mr R L H Long, TD, Mrs L Hurst. Mr R C Love, OBE, Mr G Lymer, Mr R A Marsh, Ms D Marsh, Mr P J Messenger, Mr D Murphy, Mr M J Northey, Mr P J Oakford, Mr J M Ozog, Mr R A Pascoe, Mr M D Payne, Mrs S Prendergast, Mr K Pugh, Mr H Rayner, Mr A M Ridgers, Mr C Simkins, Dr L Sullivan, Mr B J Sweetland, Mr I Thomas, Mr R J Thomas, Mr M Whiting, Mr M E Whybrow and Mr J Wright

IN ATTENDANCE: Mrs A Beer (Corporate Director of People and Communications), Mr D Cockburn (Corporate Director Strategic & Corporate Services), Ms Z Cooke (Corporate Director of Finance), Mrs B Cooper (Corporate Director of Growth, Environment and Transport), Mr M Dunkley CBE (Corporate Director for Children Young People and Education), Ms P Southern (Corporate Director, Adult Social Care and Health) and Mr B Watts (General Counsel)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

184. Apologies for Absence

The General Counsel reported apologies from Mrs Beresford, Mr Bird, Mr Booth, Mr Butler, Mr Chittenden, Mr Hill, Mr Hook, Mr Kite, Ida Linfield, Mr Lewis, Mr Manion, Mr McInroy and Miss Rankin

185. Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests or Other Significant Interests in items on the agenda

Dr Sullivan declared an interest, as her husband was employed by the County Council in the Early Help and Prevention Team.

186. Appointment of Honorary Alderman

(1) The Chairman offered a very warm welcome to the meeting to Mr John Davies and Mrs Christine Davies.

17 DECEMBER 2019

(2) The Chairman stated that Mr Davies had been regarded by Group Leaders as having given eminent service both to Kent County Council and the people of Kent.

(3) RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY that Mr Davies, a distinguished former Member of Kent County Council, be awarded the status of Honorary Alderman.

(4) The Chairman then presented Mr Davies with his Honorary Alderman badge and scroll.

(5) Mr Davies responded in his capacity as a newly appointed Honorary Alderman and expressed his thanks for the honour bestowed upon him by the County Council