From: Ben Watts, General Counsel

To: County Council, 22 October 2020

Subject: Appointment of Independent Member Remuneration Panel from

1 November 2020

Classification: Unrestricted

1. Introduction

1.1 The appointment of a Member Remuneration Panel is a legal requirement and part of our usual course of business. The same process has been followed this year as is followed every four years. The Selection and Member Services appoints an independent selection panel. This selection panel then makes recommendations regarding the appointment of members of the independent Member Remuneration Panel.

- 1.2 Following consultation with, and the agreement of, the Group Leaders, the Selection and Member Services Committee agreed the composition of the independent selection panel on 23 June 2020.
- 1.3 The following Honorary Alderman were on the independent and cross-party selection Panel:
 - Mr John Davies.
 - Mr Mike Harrison.
 - Mr Martin Vye.
- 1.4 The selection panel elected Mr Martin Vye as Chair.
- 1.5 Following a public advertisement on the County Council website inviting applications for the three independent Member Remuneration Panel positions, the selection panel shortlisted and then interviewed five candidates.

2. Selection Panel Recommendations

- 2.1 At the conclusion of the interviews, the Panel <u>unanimously</u> agreed to recommend to the County Council that the following be appointed to the County Council's independent Member Remuneration Panel for the period 1 November 2020 to 31 October 2024:
 - Ms Jemma Gowland.
 - Mr Chris Macklin.
 - Mr David Mercier.
- 2.2 A copy of the recommended candidates' CVs are available on request.

3. Recommendation(s):

The County Council is invited to consider the recommendation of the selection panel of Honorary Aldermen and appoint Ms Jemma Gowland, Mr Chris Macklin, and Mr David Mercier as the members of the independent Member Remuneration Panel for a four-year term, from 1 November 2020 to 31 October 2024.

4. Background Documents

None.

5. Contact details

Relevant Director:

Ben Watts, General Counsel 03000 416814 benjamin.watts@kent.gov.uk

Report Author:

Tristan Godfrey, Scrutiny Research Officer 03000 411704 tristan.godfrey@kent.gov.uk