KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Kent County Council held at County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 4 September 2008.

PRESENT:
Mr P W A Lake (Chairman)
Mr J A Davies (Vice-Chairman)

Mrs A D Allen, Mrs C Angell, Mr M J Angell, Mr A R Bassam, Mr T J Birkett, Mr R H C Bliss, Mr A H T Bowles, Mr D L Brazier, Mr J R Bullock, MBE, Miss S J Carey, Mr P B Carter, Mr N J D Chard, Mr A Chell, Mr I S Chittenden, Mr L Christie, Mr G Cowan, Mr A D Crowther, Mr J Curwood, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr M C Dance, Mrs T Dean, Mr K A Ferrin, MBE; Mr C G Findlay, Mr J B O Fullarton, Mr T Gates, Mr G K Gibbens, Mr R W Gough, Mrs E Green, Ms A Harrison, Mr M J Harrison, Mr C Hart, Mr W A Hayton, Mr C Hibberd, Mr P M Hill, OBE; Mr D A Hirst, Mr G A Horne, MBE, Mr E E C Hotson, Mr I T N Jones, Mr A J King, MBE; Mr R E King, Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr J F London, Mr R L H Long, Mr K G Lynes, Mr T A Maddison, Mr R A Marsh, Mr J I Muckle, Mrs M Newell, Mr W V Newman, DL, Mr M Northey, Mr R J E Parker, Mr R J Parry, Mr R A Pascoe, Mr A R Poole, Mr L B Ridings, Mrs E D Rowbotham, Mr G Rowe, Mr J D Simmonds, Ms B J Simpson, Mr D Smyth, Mr M V Snelling, Mrs P A Stockell, Mr R Tolputt, Mr R Truelove, Mrs E Tweed, Mr C T Wells and Mr F Wood-Brignall.

IN ATTENDANCE:- The Chief Executive, Mr P Gilroy, OBE; the Director of Law and Governance, Mr G Wild and Mrs M E Cooper, Democratic Services Manager, Legal and Democratic Services.

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

1. Declarations of Interests

There were none.

2. Minutes

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 19 June 2008 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

3. Chairman's Announcements

Ms B J Simpson

The Chairman welcomed back Ms B Simpson following a prolonged illness.

Mr C J Law and Lord Bruce Lockhart

- (1) The Chairman announced the death of Mr John Law, County Councillor for Herne Bay and Lord Bruce-Lockhart, Kt, OBE, County Councillor for Maidstone Rural East.
- (2) Numerous Councillors paid tribute to both Mr J Law and Lord Sandy Bruce-Lockhart.
- (3) The Council stood in silence as a mark of respect.
- (4) RESOLVED that this Council desires to record the sense of loss it feels on the death of Mr Law and Lord Bruce-Lockhart and extends to their relatives its deepest sympathy on their sad bereavement.

Mr C J Capon and Mr B R Cope

The Chairman advised the Council that both Mr Capon and Mr Cope were unwell and stated that he had written to them both on behalf of the Council wishing them a speedy recovery.

Petition

The Chairman announced that he had received a petition regarding weighting restrictions in Yalding which he handed to Mr K Ferrin, Cabinet Member for Environment, Highways and Waste.

4. Questions

Under Procedure Rule 1.18, 10 questions were asked and replies were given.

5. Report by Leader of the Council

The Leader updated the Council on the economic recession and improvements within Kent Highways Services. At the end of his report the Council received a DVD on the Schools Sports Event.

6. Property Enterprise Fund 2

- (1) Mr N J D Chard moved Mr D Brazier seconded the recommendations contained in the report.
- (2) Mr D Smyth moved Mr T Maddison seconded, as an amendment, the following words be added to the recommendation:
 - "(b) that properties assigned to the Fund are maintained at the highest possible standard so as not to disfigure and downgrade the surrounding areas."
- (3) Mr A King moved Mr P Carter seconded that the question be put.

For - 39

Mrs A D Allen, Mr M J Angell, Mr A R Bassam, Mr R Bliss, Mr A H T Bowles, Mr D L Brazier, Mr J R Bullock, Mr P B Carter, Mr N J D Chard, Mr A R Chell, Mr J Curwood, Mr V J Dagger,

4 September 2008

Mr M C Dance, Mr C G Findlay, Mr J B O Fullarton, Mr T Gates, Mr G K Gibbens, Mr R Gough, Mr M J Harrison, Mr W A Hayton, Mr C Hibberd, Mr P M Hill, Mr D A Hirst, Mr G A Horne, Mr A J King, Mr R E King, Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr R L H Long, Mr K G Lynes, Mr R A Marsh, Mr M Northey, Mr R J Parry, Mr L B Ridings, Mr J D Simmonds, Mrs P Stockell, Mr R Tolputt, Mrs E Tweed, Mr C Wells and Mr F Wood-Brignall.

Against – 20

Mrs C Angell, Mr T Birkett, Mr I Chittenden, Mr L Christie, Mr G Cowan, Mr A D Crowther, Mr D S Daley, Mrs E Green, Ms A Harrison, Mr C Hart, Mr I T N Jones, Mr J I Muckle, Mrs M Newell, Mr W V Newman, Mr R J E Parker, Mr A R Poole, Mrs E Rowbotham, Mr G Rowe, Mr D Smyth and Mr R Truelove.

Carried

(4) The Chairman then put to the vote the amendment set out in (2) above.

For – 16

Mrs C Angell, Mr T Birkett, Mr L Christie, Mr G Cowan, Mrs E Green, Ms A Harrison, Mr I T N Jones, Mr T Maddison, Mr J I Muckle, Mrs M Newell, Mr W V Newman, Mr R J E Parker, Mr A R Poole, Mrs E Rowbotham, Mr D Smyth and Mr R Truelove.

Abstain – 1

Mr S J E Koowaree.

Against - 46

Mrs A D Allen, Mr M J Angell, Mr A R Bassam, Mr R Bliss, Mr A H T Bowles, Mr D L Brazier, Mr J R Bullock, Miss S J Carey, Mr N J D Chard, Mr I Chittenden, Mr P B Carter, Mr A R Chell, Mr A D Crowther, Mr J Curwood, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr M C Dance, Mr K A Ferrin, Mr C G Findlay, Mr J B O Fullarton, Mr T Gates, Mr G K Gibbens, Mr R Gough, Mr M J Harrison, Mr C Hibberd, Mr P M Hill, Mr D A Hirst, Mr G A Horne, Mr A J King, Mr R E King, Mr J F London, Mr R L H Long, Mr K G Lynes, Mr R A Marsh, Mr M J Northey, Mr R J Parry, Mr R Pascoe, Mr L B Ridings, Mr G Rowe, Mr J Simmonds, Ms B Simpson, Mrs P Stockell, Mr R Tolputt, Mrs E Tweed, Mr C Wells and Mr F Wood-Brignall.

Lost

(5) The Chairman then put to the vote the motion set out in (1) above.

For - 49

Mrs A D Allen, Mr M J Angell, Mr A R Bassam, Mr R Bliss, Mr A H T Bowles, Mr D L Brazier, Mr J R Bullock, Miss S J Carey, Mr P B Carter, Mr N J D Chard, Mr A R Chell, Mr I Chittenden, Mr A D Crowther, Mr J Curwood, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr M C Dance, Mr K A Ferrin, Mr C G Findlay, Mr J B O Fullarton, Mr T Gates, Mr G K Gibbens, Mr R A Gough, Mr M J Harrison, Mr W A Hayton, Mr C Hibberd, Mr P Hill, Mr D A Hirst, Mr G A Horne, Mr A J King, Mr R E King, Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr J F London, Mr R L H Long, Mr K G Lynes, Mr R A Marsh, Mr M J Northey, Mr R J Parry, Mr R Pascoe, Mr L B Ridings, Mr G Rowe, Mr J D Simmonds, Ms B Simpson, Mr M V Snelling, Mrs P Stockell, Mr R Tolputt, Mrs E Tweed, Mr C Wells and Mr F Wood-Brignall.

4 September 2008

Abstain – 13

Mrs C Angell, Mr T Birkett, Mr G Cowan, Mrs E Green, Ms A Harrison, Mr C Hart, Mr I T N Jones, Mr T Maddison, Mr J I Muckle, Mrs M Newell, Mr W V Newman, Mr D Smyth and Mr R Truelove.

Against – 4

Mr L Christie, Mr R J E Parker, Mr A R Poole and Mrs E Rowbotham.

Carried

(6) RESOLVED that the establishment of PEF2 with a maximum deficit balance of £85m be approved.

7. Motion for Time-limited debate

Mr P Carter, with the consent of his seconder and the Council, agreed to withdraw this motion.

8. Minutes – Governance and Audit Committee –30 June 2008

RESOLVED that pursuant to Procedure Rule 1.23 (3) these Minutes be noted.

10. Minutes for Information

Pursuant to Procedure Rules 1.10 and 1.19A the Minutes of the Planning Applications Committee and Regulation Committee were noted.

2008/c&g/countycouncil/090408/minutes