Agenda and minutes

Freedom of the County, County Council - Thursday, 21st September, 2023 10.00 am

Venue: Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone. View directions

Contact: Joel Cook - Democratic Services Manager  03000 416287


No. Item


Apologies for Absence

Additional documents:


The Democratic Services Manager reported apologies from Mr Mike Baldock, Mr Trevor Bond, Miss Susan Carey, Mr Nick Chard, Ms Karen Constantine, Mr Andrew Kennedy, Mr Steve Manion, Mr James McInroy and Mr Derek Murphy.


Mr Cole reported apologies from Mrs Margot McArthur.


Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests or Other Significant Interests in items on the agenda

Additional documents:


Mr Sandhu declared an interest in that he was a Trustee of the Kent Equality Cohesion Council.


Freedom of the County - HMS Kent pdf icon PDF 106 KB

Additional documents:


(1)    The Chairman formally welcomed Commander Jeremy Brettell - Royal Navy Commanding Officer HMS Kent, Lieutenant Commander Paul Holland – Royal Navy Logistics Officer HMS Kent, and Canon Peter Bruinvels – KCC Covenant Lead and Civilian-Military Liaison Adviser and Military Expert, to the meeting.


(2)    The Chairman held a one-minute silence in memory of the Royal Marines who lost their lives on Friday 22 September 1989 in the bombing of Deal Barracks.


(3)    Mr Gough proposed, and Dr Sullivan seconded the motion that the Freedom of the County be awarded to HMS Kent and the ship’s company.


(4)    The Chairman invited Mr Hood, Mr Hook, Mrs Game, Mr Passmore, Mr Richardson, Mrs Prendergast, Mr Crow-Brown, and Mrs Bruneau to speak.


(5)    The Chairman put the motion set out in paragraph 3 to the vote.


Motion carried.


(6)    The Chairman then presented Commander Brettel with the scroll conferring the Freedom of the County and invited Commander Brettel to respond.


(7)    Commander Brettel responded on behalf of HMS Kent and the ship’s company and expressed his thanks for the honour bestowed upon them by the County Council. The Commander presented the Chairman with an HMS Kent ship plaque.


(8)    The Chairman thanked Commander Brettel and Lieutenant Commander Holland for attending to accept the Honour and thanked Mr Bruinvels for his continued work as Armed Forces Adviser to the Council.


(9)    RESOLVED that the Freedom of the County be awarded to HMS Kent.


Mr Steve Campkin asked for his vote to abstain from the recommendation be noted in the minutes.