Agenda and minutes

Governor Appointments Panel - Friday, 2nd May, 2014 2.00 pm

Venue: Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone. View directions

Contact: Andrew Tait  01622 694342

No. Item


Election of Chairman


(1)       Miss S J Carey moved, seconded by Mr D S Daley that Mr R J Parry be elected Chairman for the meeting.

                                    Motion carried.


(2)       Mr R J Parry thereupon took the Chair.


Minutes pdf icon PDF 34 KB

Additional documents:


RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 7 February 2014 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.


Authority Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent pdf icon PDF 22 KB

Additional documents:


(1)       The Governor Support Officer reported discussions with the Tonbridge Federation concerning the proposed reappointment of Dr P Brierley to its Governing Body.  In the light of the information provided, the Panel decided to overturn its previous decision and to make the re-appointment.


(2)       The Panel agreed to consider the nomination of Mr M Chapman to the Governing Body of Brookland CE School as his nomination had been made in time.  On being advised by the Governor Support Officer that he fulfilled all the criteria, the Panel agreed to make the appointment.


(3)       The Panel postponed consideration of Ms H Stewart’s nomination to the Governing Body of The Oaks Community Infant School in order to enable that School to consider the nomination. The meeting which would have considered the nomination had been postponed.


(4)       The Panel agreed by 3 votes to 1 with 1 abstention to postpone consideration of Mr T Thake’s nomination to the Governing Body of Sevenoaks Primary School in order that the Governor Support Officer could make further enquiries as to whether he would be able to suitably represent the Local Authority.


(5)       RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors to Primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units, the Pool of Additional Governors and nominations to non-Authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.